As-salamu 'alaykum; Greetings from a New Member/Prospective Convert

mnemonicus

:salam2:

Greetings to all of you. Allow me to introduce myself. My name is Ed, I'm 26, and I'm an American graduate student (graduated this week!). I am studying history and Islamic studies, hopefully to become a teacher in this field. I'm slowly learning Arabic, too. I've read the Quran in detail with my tutor, and I've studied Islamic literature. These are really beautiful studies, and I enjoy them immensely. Needless to say, academically, Islam fascinates me. So, this is the foundation from which I approach Islam at the present - one of learning.

However, spiritually, I have been in limbo for some time; after leaving Christianity as a matter of conscience, I have had no religion other than a very simple monotheism. In this, I have sought God, and he has taken me somewhere - I'm not quite sure where, yet... But I can see that Islam is very attractive to me because it simply makes sense to me, and I can forgive the things that may be disagreeable to others, as a matter of historical context. In short, I am in great need of a great spiritual anchor - I deeply desire to take that spiritual hand-hold offered by Allah in Quran 2:256, and to know the wonderful God discussed in the preceeding aya... but I suppose I do not know how to approach this decision. I think to take up Islam is a very serious life decision, and I don't want to muck it up due to being unready, uncertain, and insufficiently educated as to what I'm choosing to do!