Becoming ONE Ummah

nabilah ahmad

Assalammualaikum w.b.t
I am from Malaysia and I am currently studying in UK. Upon reading numerous true stories of how fellow Muslims in the Middle East and (dare I say this) around the world are suffering from numerous fascism attacks and biased judgements especially from people who does not understand Islam and the true belief to Allah's divine power and existance, it just dawn on me on how LITTLE the 'Islamic' Malaysian government had done to help...I am not trying to be political here, but this is true...The muslim Malaysians have this notion that Malaysians (muslims) practices Islam Hadhari. Regardless of what it means, it created a small confusion on the true meaning of Islam Hadhari (as if the word Islam is not pure and special enough), especially amongst the villagers who have very little exposure to the TRUE meaning and understanding of Islam and among the youngsters who are mostly, (and this is a very disturbing woe) westernised in many sense. We have almost everything that SEEM Islamic, but in essence, it is not. I am not happy to point out these truths about my fellow muslims in Malaysia but, this is true... For example, there is one show that focuses on Islamic 'fashion' where the fashion are really, NOT concealing at all...the holy Quran and even Prophet Muhammad (sallahu 'alaihi wassalam) had already pointed out numerous 'adab' or the CORRECT way of concealing the aurat. This might create confusion, especially among teenagers and working women who will think that Islamic 'fashion' is all about beauty but not for the sake of following Allah's divine word. Astaghfirullah hal azheem.