Bovine Gelatin, Halal or Not?

Discussion in 'TurnToIslam Lounge !' started by Yahya1819, Jan 10, 2011.

  1. Yahya1819
    Offline

    Yahya1819 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    New York City
    Ratings Received:
    +2 / 0
    Assalaamu Alaikum,

    I recently bought a muscle building supplement product called Force Factor. It contains Bovine Gelatin and I would like to know if it is Halal. Please share anything you know.

    JazakAllahu Khairan
    • Like Like x 1
  2. alf2
    Bored
    Offline

    alf2 Islam is a way of life

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,735
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Vent Unit Nurse
    Location:
    Georgia, US
    Ratings Received:
    +58 / 0
    Gelatin is made from boiling bones, skin and muscles of animals. Generally, pigs. BUT, Bovine indicates this gelatin is coming from a cattle animal.

    This type of animal is halal for us to eat.
    But the animal was probably not slaughtered in a Halal manner.
  3. queenislam
    Fine
    Offline

    queenislam ★★★I LOVE ALLAH★★★

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    31,137
    Likes Received:
    341
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Educator.
    Location:
    will do for now~Alhamdulillah!
    Ratings Received:
    +794 / 12
    Insist it on Halal!!!

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    :bismillah:
    :salam2:


    Dear br.

    Bovine Gelatin is made by processing the skin, bones & connective tissues of cattle. This can be formed into the gelatin capsules drug & vitamin companies use to fill with medicines & vitamins.
    Bovine are cow so they are beef galetin if it slaughtered in Islamic rite it's halal.

    And your question is regarding this product you are taking,


    But since you are getting it in United States,
    My advice is that
    you can obtain the answers from the manufacturer
    in your country regarding this by simply call them up and

    insya'allah~May it help to clear all your doubt.

    ~May Allah swt help and guide you~Amin!

    Take Care!
    ~Wassalam :)




    • Like Like x 1
  4. Tabassum07
    Offline

    Tabassum07 Smile for Allah

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,654
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Gender:
    Female
    Ratings Received:
    +436 / 5
    :salam2:

    I randomly stumbled across this thread, and would like to make it clear, that if anything contains bovine gelatin, it is still haraam for us to eat because the animal was not slaughtered Islamically.

    If it was slaughtered Islamically (ie, you live in an Islamic country), then its okay, otherwise, no - any mention of gelatin should have you be putting the product back on the shelf I'm afraid.

  5. DanyalSAC
    Offline

    DanyalSAC Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    Ratings Received:
    +8 / 0
    There are many different opinions on this. I would seek a shaykh and ask him.
  6. ayesha.ansari
    Offline

    ayesha.ansari Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Quran teacher
    Location:
    Extend Knowledge Inc
    Ratings Received:
    +4 / 0
    In today world it is the main basic problem in non muslim countries, for muslim to obtains things which are fully halal with no doubt, but my brother, you must have to consult with the manufacturer company and search around, as one of my brother said the same.
  7. saifkhan
    Offline

    saifkhan abd-Allah

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,319
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Teacher (Lecturer)
    Location:
    I'm a refugee
    Ratings Received:
    +8 / 0
    salam alaikum

    bovine gelatine is from cattle, as some sisters and brother have already replied.
    usually: cow, buffalo etc.

    if it was pork, then it would be porcine gelatin

    but the matter is do they take pig as a cattle animal!?
    i guess no, wa-llahu a'lam

    you better contact a shaykh
    may Allah help you to find

    salam alaikum
  8. msmoorad
    Offline

    msmoorad mommys boy

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    plumber
    Location:
    durban, south africa
    Ratings Received:
    +1 / 0
    as salaamu alaikum

    whats the need to consult a sheikh on such a clear cut matter?

    there is 0% chance of the cow that this gelatin was derived from having being slaughtered according to shariah- therefore the gelatin is haraam.
    i know its difficult but whats more important:
    your muscular/strength gains or ensuring that only halaal enters your system?

    it would be different if you used the product without being aware of the gelatin but now that you know, you cant consume it or try to justify using it.
    if its still sealed,maybe return it & get something else.
    and Allah ta'ala knows best
    jazkallah
  9. Tabassum07
    Offline

    Tabassum07 Smile for Allah

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,654
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Gender:
    Female
    Ratings Received:
    +436 / 5
    :wasalam:

    Brother, if the cattle is slaughtered unislamically, that makes it haraam, according to major consensus of scholars, whether you use it for meat, gelatin, whatever. Only animals which have been slaughtered while invoking the name of Allah SWT are permissable to eat.
    • Winner Winner x 1
  10. saifkhan
    Offline

    saifkhan abd-Allah

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,319
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Teacher (Lecturer)
    Location:
    I'm a refugee
    Ratings Received:
    +8 / 0
    salam alaikum

    oh, JazakAllah khair, sister, I totally miss that point.
    I was putting importance in pork and beef.

    I didn't say that is haram or halal, so I said to contact a shaykh
    JazakAllah khair for pointing me out.

    I strictly maintain dhabiha halah, and if there is something confusing, I stay away

    may Allah help us to acquire the knowledge, ameen

    wassalam
  11. DanyalSAC
    Offline

    DanyalSAC Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    Ratings Received:
    +8 / 0
    And I said to consult a shaykh because the food of the People of the Book is lawful for us. How many Christians do you know say "bismillah" when they kill an animal? I can say that for me its exactly 0.

    I'm kinda tired of having this discussion on this website. Most folks think that if its not from a Muslim country (or killed by a Muslim) its 100% haraam, even halal animals. I don't buy into that.
  12. msmoorad
    Offline

    msmoorad mommys boy

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    plumber
    Location:
    durban, south africa
    Ratings Received:
    +1 / 0
    salaams to all
    the quran refers to the people of the book who FOLLOW the book.
    how can you say that if its not slaughtered by a muslim, then it could still be halaal?
    i have lived in the US & i have seen many arabs & african muslims eat haraam meat.
    they also use the same hollow excuse/justification.
    at the end of the day-its a matter of haraam vs halaal- not a trivial issue.
    jazakallah
  13. BrotherInIslam7
    Offline

    BrotherInIslam7 La Illaha Illa Allah Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,028
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    University - Graduate student
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings Received:
    +7 / 0
    :salam2:

    I see that we are headed towards the oft repeated zabeeha halaal Vs non-zabeeha halaal discussion. So I feel it's necessary that I repost one of akhi Al Kashmiri's earlier post on a similar thread that might make us a bit more tolerant about the varying opinions that fellow brothers and sisters might have here on TTI regarding this issue.

    Link
  14. Aapa
    Offline

    Aapa Mirajmom

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    10,991
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Gender:
    Female
    Ratings Received:
    +150 / 12
    Assalaam walaikum,

    What about kosher gelatin.
  15. Tabassum07
    Offline

    Tabassum07 Smile for Allah

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,654
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Gender:
    Female
    Ratings Received:
    +436 / 5
    I've also read in an earlier article one sister on TTI forwarded to me once a couple years back (can't find it anymore), that although Kosher Gelatin would not have pork, it might still have beef enzymes where the cattle was not slaughtered islamically. So we have to be careful because the kosher gelatin could have been sourced from hide/bones etc from a cow which musims are not allowed to eat.

    Please correct me if I'm wrong.

    One thing I find interesting is that Yoplait Yogurts say Kosher Gelatin on them, but they do not have any sign of a K, U, UD etc.
  16. BrotherInIslam7
    Offline

    BrotherInIslam7 La Illaha Illa Allah Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,028
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    University - Graduate student
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings Received:
    +7 / 0
    :salam2:

    If you are looking for yoghurt, your best bet would be buying organic yoghurt as it would eliminate any doubts of meat being used in it InshaAllah.

    There are 2 brands that are common here and quite delicious yoghurt :- Horizon and Stonyfield. The U D sign on the dairy products means that it would most likely not have any meat in it as the jews dietary laws don't allow them to consume diary products and meat together.

    As mentioned above, the 'K' sign hardly means anything. Though look out for the 'U' sign and InshaAllah that would be safe for us to consume given that you look out for any alcohol addition to the product.
  17. Tabassum07
    Offline

    Tabassum07 Smile for Allah

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,654
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Gender:
    Female
    Ratings Received:
    +436 / 5
    Wa iyyak, akhi.

    Yes, in addtion, FriendlyFarms Yogurt is also a brand available which has the UD sign on it. However, I'd like to caution anyone interested that I've come across a yogurt (I forgot which brand it was) which had a UD on it, however it contains Aspartame. Aspartame is not a safe chemical, and has some harmful effects similar to what MSG does - of course its halal, but its not good health-wise. In India, all products and chewing gums which contain Aspartame actually have a medical warning in bold print on the front of the packets.

    When looking for a "K" for a kosher sign, the K has to be inside some sort of design, like inside a star, or an emblem or a circle. I've recently bought Jello's jelly crystals, and it had a tiny unadorned K on it, and it said "Gelatin" on the ingredients. I'm thinking now why did I even buy it? it might not be safe to eat and could contain pork/meat as the k is so tiny in a corner and looks like it was left there accidentally. I have got to throw that packet out..
  18. Tabassum07
    Offline

    Tabassum07 Smile for Allah

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,654
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Gender:
    Female
    Ratings Received:
    +436 / 5
    Okay, I am really stumped. I have just come across a product, and I can not figure out if it is halal or haram to eat.

    The product in question is a Reese's SnackBarz I just got out of a vending machine (I heard of it for the first time). It has a UD on it. The ingredients don't have any questionable material on it at all - well, there's "Glycerin" on it, but I'm not sure what that is sourced from. What is confusing me is the little blurb on the front which says "Crispy Rice & MarshMallow with Reese's Peanut Butter."

    I've sent an email to Hershey's to ask if there are any animal derivates in the product, but the helpline is closed for the weekend, so now I'm confused whether I should eat it or not. I mean, it has UD on it.
  19. soulzcore
    Offline

    soulzcore Abd-Allah !!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings Received:
    +0 / 0

    Wasalaam brother,

    Bovine = haraam

    Force Factor = not worth the hype, there are better supplements out there, dont go for it!
  20. BrotherInIslam7
    Offline

    BrotherInIslam7 La Illaha Illa Allah Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,028
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    University - Graduate student
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings Received:
    +7 / 0
    :salam2:

    Thanks for informing us about that. InshaAllah will try to keep a look out for 'Aspartame' in the future.

    Though I am not really that well versed about this 'gelatin' issue. My friends who have more knowledge of bio chemistry as well have done more research on this 'Kosher issue', say not to trust the 'K' sign on it's own. In their words, it is as good as being worthless for us. However, K D or U D and we start to feel comfortable.

    I asked my friend and he said he wouldn't trust Kosher gelatin at all and it's better to avoid it altogether.

    My friend says that the glycerin could be from vegetable sources. However, the marshmellow is a total no-no. He said to only consume 'halaal marked' marshmallow that are sold by muslim food companies. All the rest be it U D or K D is not safe enough when it comes to marshmallows.

    Anyhow, it would be helpful to us in the future if you could inform us about the response you get from the corporate office.

    Finally, always a good idea to not consume a food product when in doubt. Just to be on the safe side.

    Wasalaamalaykum waa rahmatullahi

Share This Page