Is non alcoholic beer/wine halal ?

Discussion in 'TurnToIslam Lounge !' started by truthseeker63, Jan 16, 2012.

  1. truthseeker63
    Offline

    truthseeker63 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings Received:
    +8 / 1
    I want to know if I can drink non alcoholic beer/wine. I have seen non alcoholic beer/wine that is 0.0% alcohol. I have also heard some Muslims say that non alcoholic beer/wine is haram because they claim you can never remove 100% of the alcohol is this true ?



    Non-alcoholic beer in Islamic countries

    Islam prohibits the consumption of alcoholic beverages.[26] However, there is disagreement among scholars of Islam about the consumption of non-alcoholic beer.[27]

    Possibly because of this disagreement, alcohol-free (0% ABV) beers, (e.g. Holsten, Barbican and Moussy) are often available in stores and restaurants that cater to an Islamic customer base. They are also popular in countries that enforce alcohol prohibition, such as Saudi Arabia, Kuwait and Iran. They are often available with added flavors (apple, strawberry, and peach).


    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/​Low-alcohol_beer

    Is non-alcoholic beer halal? Can Muslims consume it?

    Uploaded by icislam on May 10, 2009


    Lot of Muslims think non-alcoholic beer halal.


    Dear Fellow Chefs & Culinarians & Viewers,
    Wonderful new product. Alcohol free wine, suitable for Muslim,Mormons,Southern Baptists & recovering alcoholics. The owner/inventor needs donations to start marketing this product. Have a peek at his site and watch the video. Please pass this around if you dig it

    P.S.This product would be permissible according to the Hanafi madhab being it was dehydrated...


  2. finding light
    In-Love
    Offline

    finding light Ya Rab! Forgive me..

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Female
    Ratings Received:
    +21 / 0
    Salaam...
    Hmmm, I was also told that there is a small percentage of alcohol.
    Personally, I do not belive it, but I dont know what the manufacturers would say about it. I should take a sample to a lab - i think I will do this in the near future then can answer for sure!
    Muslim countries allow it, why would they if there was alcohol in them?
    I also watched a documentary about non alcoholic wine and it says that all ethanol is removed. it was quite interesting...
    But better to be sure before trusting.. so best thing to stay away until you are sure.
    and a little thought - i dont think it would go down well with alcoholics! Alcoholics drink for the alcohol not the taste! thats like smoking nicotine free cigarettes... no help when your body and mind still wants the real thing...
  3. I.Iman
    Offline

    I.Iman Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Female
    Ratings Received:
    +1 / 0
    This is my personal opinion..
    We should not make Islam difficult for us. As I see it Allah swt forbid alcohol, not what it was mixed with. Although, there are other drinks to have that are not named "beer" and "wine". Just think of your purpose, If it is to imitate drinking alcohol it should be Haram, but if you like the taste of beer or wine and can have it without alcohol, shouldn't it be halal?
  4. Murad206
    Offline

    Murad206 La ilaha illa-Allah.

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Being a Muslim.
    Location:
    Land of the "free".
    Ratings Received:
    +2 / 0
    Assalam Alaikum, if its non alcoholic then it's permissible.
  5. TheAuthenticBase
    Offline

    TheAuthenticBase Assalaamu 'alaykum!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In a pineapple under the sea! lol
    Home page:
    Ratings Received:
    +68 / 8
    my favourite:

    Kopparberg!!!

    [​IMG]

    tho make sure it says 0% alcohol... coz some are like 4.5% and stuff

    well actually this is non alcoholic cider.... but still... tastes gooooooood!

    the shaykh at my local masjid drinks his 0.0% bear.... Our masjid fridge is sometimes packed out with them.... Though I'm not going to say his name as he appears on islam channel answering questions to viewers.. lol
    • Like Like x 1
  6. esperanza
    Sick
    Offline

    esperanza revert of many years

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,830
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    teacher
    Location:
    middle east
    Ratings Received:
    +11 / 0
    but non alcoholic beer,,looks like beer the package the same..smeels the same..and i guess tastes the same..with such a wide variety of drinks availabel... what is the need to drink this
    young people here drink it now as they think its cool its not what s so cool or attractive about it,,,,
  7. Tomtom
    Offline

    Tomtom Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sharjah, UAE
    Ratings Received:
    +8 / 0
    Ok so I suppose people who drinks this kind of stuff do not take Islam seriously and why on earth would anybody want to imitate the kufr?

    Answers on a postcard please............
  8. esperanza
    Sick
    Offline

    esperanza revert of many years

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,830
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    teacher
    Location:
    middle east
    Ratings Received:
    +11 / 0
    i agree i wonder why
  9. OsMaN_93
    Amused
    Offline

    OsMaN_93 Here to help

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    3,738
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    UK
    Home page:
    Ratings Received:
    +20 / 0
    hahaha this had me in stitches!! LOL I think this statement should be in every thread



    Sheikh Yusuf al-Qaradawi (Qatar) once sparked controversy when he said that it's ok to consume a product that contains less than 0.0005 parts per million of alcohol. I'm not sure if this is true or not, clarification would be nice, O' fatwa warriors...

    taken from wikipedia:
    so it depends where u are, if in the middle east then there's no alcohol in it, but if you're in the UK then it contains alcohol.
    waslam alikom
  10. alf2
    Bored
    Offline

    alf2 Islam is a way of life

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,735
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Vent Unit Nurse
    Location:
    Georgia, US
    Ratings Received:
    +58 / 0
    Sister, Non-Alcoholic beverages have NO ALCOHOL.
    Some people take medication that do not allow alcohol. I dont think a manufacturer will put themselves at risk of a lawsuit by putting alcohol in the beverage.

    I was actually looking at a bottle of 'non alcoholic wine" the other day at work. I was reading the bottle and what not. it was basically fizzy grape juice. Like carbonated 100% grape juice.

    Wine is made from fermented grapes.
    • Like Like x 1
  11. ismail52
    Fine
    Offline

    ismail52 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    In the Netherlands
    Ratings Received:
    +32 / 0
    Selamunaleykum,
    It's just better to not drink the non alcohol beer or whine...
    I really don't understand why people are curious too drink that..

    Take care of yourself
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Hard Rock Moslem
    Offline

    Hard Rock Moslem I'm your brother

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Allah's servant
    Location:
    South East Asia
    Ratings Received:
    +16 / 0
    Good topic, this issue was a blockbuster in M'sia last year.

    Let us be guided with the following hadiths:

    "Every drink that makes you drunk is haram (illicit).” (Bukhari)

    “If a large amount of anything causes intoxication, a small amount of it is also prohibited .” (Abu Dawud, Tirmidhi & Ibn Majah)


    I like the above "halal beer", when I was told that it contain very small amount of alcohol, I stop taking it. I was a drinker during my pre-Islamic life, heavy drinker sometime. Alhamdulillah I was able to stop after my reversion to Islam. The smell of this "halal beer" reminds me the actual "haram beer" minus you don't get drunk. Since it was confirmed most of the products contain some small amounts of alcohol I believe it is better not to consume it unless it is alcohol free and guaranteed halal.

    And also let us be guided with the following hadith:

    Leave that which makes you doubt for that which does not make you doubt.” (al-Tirmidhi. 2518; sahih according to al-Albaani)
  13. lostlilly07
    Offline

    lostlilly07 striving 4 Firadous

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    ummi/wife
    Location:
    dunya aka U.S.
    Ratings Received:
    +4 / 0
    wa alaikum salaam

    water is better.
  14. John Smith
    Breezy
    Offline

    John Smith Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Run my own business
    Location:
    England
    Ratings Received:
    +33 / 0
    Raise you a glass! Lol.

    I cannot believe why some have jumped down your throat reagrding this subject.

    I dont get the immitating the kuffar bit? Are we to stop eating burgers,fries,hotdogs etc,etc, you can see where we are going to end up with the list :) because we imitate the kuffar? please..get a grip some of you.

    If its permissable im down with it,simple just like my faith.
  15. esperanza
    Sick
    Offline

    esperanza revert of many years

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,830
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    teacher
    Location:
    middle east
    Ratings Received:
    +11 / 0
    salam

    itsnot about jumping down his throat,,but this is a different case from eating burgers or fries..etc

    drinking non alcoholic beer has become very popular across arab ountries,,and you see young poeple drinking it to look cool,,,
    justas in the west it would be non alcoholic beer

    why the needfor this when we have huge range of fizzy drinks

    why does it have to look like a beeer bottle,,could have different pakaging,,,thats why we say its copying the west,,its idential copy from the outside,,,
  16. finding light
    In-Love
    Offline

    finding light Ya Rab! Forgive me..

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2011
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Female
    Ratings Received:
    +21 / 0
    Salaam Sister,
    Actually the documentary i watched - wine was made normally from fermented grapes but they had all this machinery that distilled it to remove the alcohol component. it was just interested to watch - technology these days. would never drink it tho. this is very different from a flavoured drink that is packaged like beer or wine - this is the actual stuff with the alcohol removed ... so alcohol removed wine as opposed to alcohol free wine... see the diff?
  17. esperanza
    Sick
    Offline

    esperanza revert of many years

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,830
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    teacher
    Location:
    middle east
    Ratings Received:
    +11 / 0
    Non-Alcoholic Beer: Prohibited?
    http://www.islamonline.net/



    Question: Is non-alcoholic beer halal? Can Muslims consume it?

    Answer:

    In the Name of Allah, Most Gracious, Most Merciful.

    All praise and thanks are due to Allah, and peace and blessings be upon His Messenger.

    Thanks for your question, and we implore Allah to guide us all to the best way through which we can learn more about what is lawful in order to follow it and what is prohibited in order to refrain from approaching it.

    Indeed, Muslims need to understand the process of making so-called non-alcoholic beers or wines. The process to make alcoholic and non-alcoholic beers and wines is the same. Both alcoholic and non-alcoholic beers and wines are haram. Once the beer or the wine is produced, alcohol is extracted from it to make it non-alcoholic. Never is 100 percent of the alcohol removed. The Islamic principle is that if the whole of a thing is haram, the part of it is also haram. By that principle non-alcoholic beers and wines are haram.

    Responding to the question, the Islamic Religious Council of Singapore, states the following:

    Thank you for your query.
    Our position is that non-alcoholic beer is not halal. Our position is based on the premise that

    1. It is drunk as an alternative to something which is haram, that is, alcoholic beer.

    2. The culture of wine and beer drinking which the drink entails is non-Islamic and, therefore, haram.

    Therefore, based on the principle of blocking the doors to transgression in Islamic jurisprudence, non-alcoholic beer is haram
  18. esperanza
    Sick
    Offline

    esperanza revert of many years

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,830
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    teacher
    Location:
    middle east
    Ratings Received:
    +11 / 0
    Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2011 7:19 pm Post subject:

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Facts about non alcoholic wine or beer
    Assalam O Alaikum

    FACTS ABOUT NON ALCOHOLIC WINE OR BEER

    This information is provided for Muslims all over the world so that they understand how a non alcoholic wine or beer is made and available throughout the world including in Muslim countries. The following are the facts about alcohol free wine, beer, its manufacture methods and its possible impact on Islamic Sharia(I am not a Alim but I will provide information so that the Muftiyans can make their own fatwas).
    1. Fact number one, Alcohol free wine or beer is made from real wine or beer. Wines from grape, date, honey, wheat is Khamr and Khamr is Haram according to several ahadith.
    2. Questions for Muftiyans, do they think that every component of wine also Haram including water in wine even wine made from grape.
    The composition of wine is:
    Water 80-85%, Alcohol 10-20%, Acids 0.4 - 1%, Sugar 0.1%(because all sugar in grape is used to produce alcohol), Mineral Salts 0.2 to 0.4%, Coloring substances 0.01 to 0.5%,
    Aromatic substances 0.01 to 0.1%, Sulphites 10 to 200 Part Millions
    3. Manufacturing processes used in manufacture of alcohol free wine or beer:

    a. Alcohol free wine beverages is produced by using US patented process(4775538) where table wine is combined with demineralized water and poured into a centrifugal evaporator where alcohol is spin off to produce a alcohol free wine base. Then grape juice concentrate is added to alcohol free wine base to make alcohol free wine.

    b. Vacuum Distillation where real wine or real beer is exposed to vacuum. Where due to change in atmospheric pressure with low heat or no heat the alcohol is distilled off.
    c. Reverse Osmosis, a procedure used to clean impurities from drinking water. Most American homes has this unit under their kitchen sinks. The reverse Osmosis has filters with very minutes pores Through these pores filters only alcohol and water with volatile acids in wine or in beer is filtered out of wine or beer without heat. Then those volatile acid and water is put back to a mixture of syrupy mixture of sugar, flavor compounds on the other side of filter after distilling out the alcohol from alcohol and water acid mixture. This is also called dealcoholized wine or beer.

    d. Non alcoholic sparkling wine or beer is made with a secondary fermentation to produce a non alcoholic sparkling wine or beer with less than 0.5% alcohol. Then carbon dioxide is forced to make a carbonated non alcoholic beer.

    4. Another fact is that all the experts in this industry said that it is very difficult and very expensive to eliminate all alcohol from wine or beer. This is the reason Non Alcoholic beverages still contain some original alcohol from wine or beer. This leads to a US Federal Law about Non Alcoholic wine or beer which states that Non Alcoholic wine or beer can contain up to 0.5% "original alcohol of wine or beer by volume."
    If you consider above breakdown of grape wine, the non alcoholic grape wine contains 5% to 10% original amount of wine in the Non Alcoholic grape wine based on 10% to 20% alcohol content in grape wine and if the Non Alcoholic grape wine contains maximum 0.5% original alcohol of wine or beer by volume according to US federal law.

    So based on this calculation a Muslim who decides to consume Non Alcoholic grape wine is consuming 5% to 10% of original grape wine in Non Alcoholic grape wine.
    5. Another fact is that many producers of Non Alcoholic wine and beer want to keep the same original flavors compounds in Non Alcoholic wine or beer because to match original flavor and taste of wine or beer. Sometimes they add 2-2.5% residual sugar content to match a completely dry alcoholic wine. Some companies advertized that their Non Alcoholic wine or beer contains same original abundant flavors of original wine and beer.

    It was reported in research that It takes about 10 nonalcoholic malt beverages to equal the alcohol in one American-style lager.

    MCG thinks every component of prohibited wine or Khamr is also Haram same as every part of pig is Haram. But some Muftiyans may have different opinion.
    The purpose of this scientific information is to provide facts about Non Alcoholic wine or beer to every Muslims so that they can make decision to consume or not to consume Non Alcoholic wine or beer. But Muslim

    Consumer Group consider Non Alcoholic wine or beer as Haram beverage and recommend Muslims not to consume them.

    This article is based on some available scientific literature and Allah knows better.

    Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed
    Muslim Consumer Group For Food Products USA
    www.muslimconsumergroup.com
    www.canadianhalalfoods.com
  19. Hard Rock Moslem
    Offline

    Hard Rock Moslem I'm your brother

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Allah's servant
    Location:
    South East Asia
    Ratings Received:
    +16 / 0
    Thank you sister "esperanza".
  20. Tomtom
    Offline

    Tomtom Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sharjah, UAE
    Ratings Received:
    +8 / 0
    No problem bro if you're down with it then go for it.

    Strange there's an ale in the UK called John smith's. lol

Share This Page