Jeremiah D McAuliffe To Islam

Proud2BeHumble

Seek Truth, Be Happy
I was raised a Catholic and went to a Catholic grade school and high school. I was always interested in religion as well as things like psychology, and was reading rather broadly on the subjects even in late grade school. I often used the rosary and asked for faith, because that is what the Catholic nuns said one should pray for-faith.

Anyway, in college I studied philosophy and focused on areas such as philosophy of religion and existentialism. I also studied Christianity as well as Buddhism and other religions, and psychology. I very strongly considered being a priest or a monk. I would visit a particular monastery once in a while and had twice begun the entrance procedure into a seminary for the priesthood. (Indeed I was in this process when I accepted Islam. Isn’t that ironic?)

In college I practised yoga and Buddhist/Hindu styles of meditation for two or three years. Near the end of my first year in college I made a very conscious and ritualised type of personal vow to go all the way with religion. To reach enlightenment. To find God.

Ask and You shall Receive
I had many, many years of fighting for just a naked faith in God. Years of praying at night:

“If You are there, give it to me. You said, ‘ask and you shall receive’. Well, I am asking. You said knock and the door will be opened. Well, I am knocking. You promised guidance to those who ask for it. I am asking for it. And later I prayed like this: ‘I am sending this prayer out to the One True God, the God of Abraham, Issac, Jacob, Joseph, Moses and Jesus. If You are there, guide me, make me Yours’... and stuff like that. I specifically used this kind of a phrase naming these people for a good length of time.