Surprising 6-Figure Salaries

islamirama

www.netmuslims.com
Surprising 6-Figure Salaries

From selling porta-potties to train conducting, these five go-getters are bringing home six figure salaries by working jobs you may not expect.

by Blake Ellis - 8/31/2011

Drives Trucks 600 to 700 Miles a Day

Name:
Jeff McGee
Job:
Semi-truck mover
Salary:
$160,000
Hometown:
Duluth, MN

I got a degree in science and I wanted to be a physician. But when I had a kid, I needed money and I needed it fast.

Since I was getting very few job offers in the medical field, I got a job as a truck driver. I didn't get any sleep, I was overworked and gained lots of weight from sitting in a truck all day and night. And I only made about $45,000 a year.

One day, I got talking with a man in a truck stop who told me how he worked as a semi-truck mover and made over $100,000 a year. So I looked into it and applied for a job.

Now, I deliver semi-truck trailers from one place to another. Not many people know about this industry because it's so much more specialized than just regular truck driving. As a transporter you pick up semi trucks straight out of the factory and drop them off at individual dealers.

I love it. I drive 600 to 700 miles a day, have my own vehicle, get as much vacation time as I want and the company flies me to each factory and puts me up in a nice hotel.

Adds Glam to the Porta-Potty Business

Name:
Eliza Kendall
Job:
Luxury porta-potty business owner
Salary:
$100,000 to $120,000
Hometown:
Harwich, Mass.

I never thought I would end up in septic. I started out working as an event organizer for a lot of top companies, until I saw a little porta-potty business for sale.

I realized that there was really nothing out there that combined porta potties with upscale events. So I bought the business, which came with six porta potties and a little trailer with a men's and women's room in it.