The harm of photos

Muslimahj

I was searching for information regarding keeping photos and paintings and the rules regarding this when I thought I will try to write my first thread here to discuss something I have been tinking about alot (Im a convert since 2 yrs so I have much to think about and learn)...Anyway...

I read this
Question:
Is it permissible for me to keep pictures and photos at home and on my computer?
Answer:
There is no problem with keeping pictures or photos either in your house or online/computer. The only problem is with having statues of humans or animal faces in your house for worshipping purposes, if one does this, then angels will not enter their house.

In the days of the Holy Prophet (pbuh), the main purpose of drawing pictures or making statues was for people to worship them. Today the usage of pictures is different (identification and similar permissible purposes), hence there is no problem in it."

I would like to add another dimension to the answer inshallah.
We in the western culture very rarely have statues or images that we worship but instead we as a society has begun to use pictures as a means to show other people how happy,good, beautiful we are, what things we own and what trips we took.
We are also filling our computers and phones with "ego" pictures in a scary way that is reminding me of self worship.
It has come to the point where I feel like this is something very harmful...

The big issues with this is that we build some kind of perfect life via our pictures which we never can come close to in our real life and this can make us depressed, also we show these pictures to everyone and thus the wiewers also start feeling that their own life is not good enough....