What Chocolates are halal

Discussion in 'TurnToIslam Lounge !' started by zainabj, Sep 19, 2009.

  1. zainabj
    Offline

    zainabj New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    UK, Leicester
    Ratings Received:
    +0 / 0
    :salam2:

    does anyone have a website that can tell me what chocolates are haram or halal... please
    jazakallah
  2. revert2007
    Offline

    revert2007 Love Fishing

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,070
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    "Fishing"
    Location:
    First Civilization
    Home page:
    Ratings Received:
    +5 / 2
    http://www.ummah.com/forum/showthread.php?t=98133

    LIST

    Aquadrops AppleHalaal
    Aquadrops Citrus Halaal
    Bounty Milk Halaal *
    Bounty Dark Halaal *
    Celebrations Halaal *
    Flyte Halaal *
    Galaxy Milk Halaal
    Galaxy Fruit & Nut Halaal *
    Galaxy Hazelnut Halaal *
    Galaxy Amicelli Halaal *
    Galaxy Caramel Halaal *
    Galaxy Promises Halaal *
    Galaxy Ripple Halaal
    Galaxy Minstrels Halaal *
    Lockets Honey & Lemon Halaal
    Lockets Blackcurrant Halaal
    Lockets Extra Strong Halaal
    M&Ms Peanut Halaal * (alcoholic flavourings)
    M&Ms Chocolate Halaal * (alcoholic flavourings)
    M&Ms Crispy Halaal * (alcoholic flavourings)
    Maltesers Halaal *
    Maltesers White Halaal *
    Mars Halaal *
    Mars Funsize Halaal *
    Milky Way Halaal *
    Milky Way Magic Stars Halaal *
    Revels Halaal
    Skittles - Fruits Halaal
    Skittles - Sours HARAAM (E120)
    Skittles - Gum Halaal
    Snickers Halaal *
    Snickers Funsize Halaal *
    Starburst Original Halaal
    Starburst Strawberry Halaal
    Starburst Sours Halaal
    Topic Halaal *
    Tracker Chocolate Chip Halaal
    Tracker Roasted Nut Halaal
    Tunes Cherry Halaal
    Tunes Blackcurrant Halaal
    Tunes Strawberry Halaal
    Twix Halaal *

    ICE CREAMS
    Bounty - All varieties Halaal *
    Galaxy - All varieties Halaal *
    Mars Bar - All varieties Halaal *
    Maltesers - All varieties Halaal *
    M&Ms Halaal *
    Snickers - All varieties Halaal *
    Starburst - All varieties Halaal
    Twix Bar Halaal *
    Twix Tub Halaal *
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. zainabj
    Offline

    zainabj New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    UK, Leicester
    Ratings Received:
    +0 / 0
    :salam2:
    i was told that celebrations are haram?
  4. revert2007
    Offline

    revert2007 Love Fishing

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,070
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    "Fishing"
    Location:
    First Civilization
    Home page:
    Ratings Received:
    +5 / 2
    ..........................................
  5. sweetkaz123
    Offline

    sweetkaz123 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Female
    Ratings Received:
    +0 / 0
    :salam2:

    its celebration chocolate
  6. q8penpals
    Offline

    q8penpals Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,028
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Computer Teacher at an Arabic/English bilingual Sc
    Location:
    I am American living in Kuwait
    Ratings Received:
    +8 / 1
    Salam

    I don't want to seem like I am teasing you, but the poster meant the brand of chocolates called "Celebrations"! I must say though, your misunderstood post made me chuckle! :)
  7. revert2007
    Offline

    revert2007 Love Fishing

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,070
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    "Fishing"
    Location:
    First Civilization
    Home page:
    Ratings Received:
    +5 / 2
    hahaha..i just realised that...i was wondering what is this celebration got to do with choclate lol..we dont hv this choclate i guess lol...


    perhaps u can check this link and this link


    if in ur product u find any of these code,plz avoid it coz it is not halal becaue it contains fat from pig
    E100, E110, E120, E 140, E141, E153, E210, E213, E214, E216, E234, E252, E270, E280, E325, E326, E327, E334, E335, E336, E337, E422, E430, E431, E432, E433, E434, E435, E436, E440, E470, E471, E472, E473, E474, E475, E476, E477, E478, E481, E482, E483, E491, E492, E493, E494, E495, E542, E570, E572, E631, E635, E904.

    source: http://www.paklinks.com/gs/religion-scripture/308267-halal-chocolates.html
    they only mentione about not halal for vegetarians because they use rennet from the stomach lining of young calves



    http://www.vegsoc.org/info/enumbers.html
    and the list is as follows from the above mentioned link:
    E Numbers
    Always non-vegetarian
    E120 Cochineal
    Can be produced from both vegetarian and non-vegetarian sources
    E104** Quinoline Yellow
    E160a(ii)** Alpha-, beta-, gamma carotene (may be held in gelatine matrix)
    E161(g) Canthaxanthin
    E252 Potassium Nitrate
    E270* Lactic Acid
    E304(i) Ascorbyl Palmitate
    E304(ii) Ascorbyl Stearate
    E322* Lecithin (may be made from battery eggs)
    E325* Sodium Lactate
    E326* Potassium Lactate
    E327* Calcium Lactate
    E422 Glycerol/Glycerin
    E431 Polyoxyethylene (40) stearate
    E432 Polyoxyethylene (20) sorbitan monolaurate
    E433 Polyoxyethylene (20) sorbitan mono-oleate
    E434 Polyoxyethylene (20) sorbitan monopalmitate
    E435 Polyoxyethylene (20) sorbitan monostearate
    E436 Polyoxyethylene (20) sorbitan tristearate
    E442 Ammonium Phosphatides
    E445 Glyceryl esters of wood rosin
    E470(a) Sodium, potassium and calcium salts of fatty acids
    E470(b) Magnesium salts of fatty acids
    E471 Mono- and di-glycerides of fatty acids
    E472(a) Acetic acid esters of mono- and di-glycerides of fatty acids
    E472(b) Lactic acid esters of mono- and di-glycerides of fatty acids
    E472(c) Citric acid esters of mono- and di-glycerides of fatty acids
    E472(d) Tartaric acid esters of mono- and di-glycerides of fatty acids
    E472(e) Mono- and di-acetyl tartaric acid esters of mono- and di-glycerides of fatty acids
    E472(f) Mixed acetic and tartaric acid esters of mono- and di-glycerides of fatty acids
    E473 Sucrose esters of fatty acids
    E474 Sucroglycerides
    E475 Polyglycerol esters of fatty acids
    E476 Polyglycerol esters of polycondensed fatty acids of caster oil
    E477 Propane-1,2-diol esters of fatty acids
    E479(b) Thermally oxidised soya bean oil interacted with mono- and di-glycerides of fatty acids
    E481 Sodium stearoyl-2-lactylate
    E482 Calcium stearoyl-2-lactylate
    E483 Stearyl tartrate
    E491 Sorbitan monostearate
    E492 Sorbitan tristearate
    E493 Sorbitan monolaurate
    E494 Sorbitan mono-oleate
    E495 Sorbitan monopalmitate
    E570 Stearic acid
    E585 Ferrous Lactate
    E631 Sodium 5′-inositate
    E635 Sodium 5′-ribonucleotides
    E640 Glycine and its sodium salt
    E920 L-cysteine and L-cysteine hydrochloride
    E966 Lactitol
    E1105 Lysozyme (made from eggs)
    E1518 Glycerol mono-, di- and tri-acetate
    All other E Numbers are to the best of our knowledge always vegetarian
    E numbers marked * may theoretically be made in a non vegetarian version, but are practically always suitable
    E numbers marked ** are not themselves non vegetarian but may be carried in a gelatine carrier especially when used in liquids
  8. zinirah
    Cheerful
    Offline

    zinirah Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings Received:
    +1 / 0
    i did not know there was haram in chocolate...
  9. Peace2u
    sunnah
    Offline

    Peace2u Turn To Islam

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    London
    Ratings Received:
    +0 / 0
    Mashallah, this is a funny post. :)
  10. Live4thehereafte
    Offline

    Live4thehereafte Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    birmingham u.k
    Ratings Received:
    +2 / 0
    lol celebrations.....lol funny.
  11. umm hussain
    Offline

    umm hussain Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Female
    Ratings Received:
    +1 / 0
    E471

    Asalam alaikum warahmatullahi wabarakhatu

    I would say most choolates are halal unless there really is a reason why they should be haram, like gelatine for example.

    Not all e471, E472, E473,E474, E475,E477,E481, E482; E483 is haram, some of them are plant based, so if you find something which has e471 and it is suitable for vegetarians in most cases unless there are other haram ingredients in it, it should be okay and Allah Knows best.

    E471
    Mono-and Diglycerides of Fatty Acids
    Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids
    Mushbooh, Halal if it is from plant fat, Haraam if it is from pork fat

    You can find out more here
  12. Peace2u
    sunnah
    Offline

    Peace2u Turn To Islam

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    London
    Ratings Received:
    +0 / 0
    Salam alai kum

    In addition to this, some boxed chocolates can also contain alcohol such as wine, rum, etc.

    Peace2u
  13. zainabj
    Offline

    zainabj New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    UK, Leicester
    Ratings Received:
    +0 / 0
    Jazakallah

    :salam2:
    lol funny post indeed, sorry i shud hve been more precise lol... jazakallah everyone for answering my question for the celebration chocolate lol
    so i can eat celebration chocolate coz its got E471 emulsifiers soya lecithin?
    jazakallah
  14. Tabassum07
    Offline

    Tabassum07 Smile for Allah

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,654
    Likes Received:
    125
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Gender:
    Female
    Ratings Received:
    +436 / 5
    anything with soya lecithin is haram? >.<
  15. zainabj
    Offline

    zainabj New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    UK, Leicester
    Ratings Received:
    +0 / 0
    :salam2:
    Jazakallah... so all my celebration boxes are goin in da bin...:SMILY23:
    ohh well ill buy myself sum halal chocolate mhhh lindors love em... :)
    aniwy jazakallah all hu replyed
  16. q8penpals
    Offline

    q8penpals Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,028
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Computer Teacher at an Arabic/English bilingual Sc
    Location:
    I am American living in Kuwait
    Ratings Received:
    +8 / 1
    Salam

    Soya lecithin is made from soy beans - why would that be haram?

    I think people are confused - regular lecithin can be from plants or animals; SOYA lecithin is from SOYbeans!
  17. zainabj
    Offline

    zainabj New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    UK, Leicester
    Ratings Received:
    +0 / 0
    :salam2:
    but it has whey powder to n is dat haram?
    jazakallah
  18. umm hussain
    Offline

    umm hussain Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Female
    Ratings Received:
    +1 / 0
    Whey is the fluid that remains of the milk of any animal after cheesemaking. Cheese is made by clotting milk. After clotting the fluid is separated from the curd. This fluid is called whey. It contains approximately 50% of the lactose of the milk, as well as proteins, vitamins and minerals. The proteins are often purified and marketed as whey protein. Dried whey is called whey powder.

Share This Page