What is Halal and Haram?

Discussion in 'Five Star Kitchen' started by tulipflower777, Jan 23, 2008.

  1. tulipflower777
    Offline

    tulipflower777 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Female
    Ratings Received:
    +7 / 0
    :salam2: to everyone. i have receive a very informative article and these will be our guideline to know what categorize of foods are allowed to eat and not to eat;

    here is it;


    What is Halal and Haram?

    Halal is a Quranic term, which means 'Allowed', or 'Lawful'.

    Allah - the Supreme Law Giver,permits halal foods and drinks for consumption.
    Eating Halal is obligatory on every Muslim.


    Haram is a Quranic term, which means 'Prohibited', or 'Unlawful'.

    Haram foods and drinks are absolutely prohibited by Allah swt - the Supreme Law Giver.
    "Eating Haram is forbidden for every Muslim.


    "Halal" is a Quranic Term, which means 'Lawful' or 'Permitted'. Sometimes it is translated as 'Acceptable' or 'Not forbidden'. Halal foods and drinks are permitted for consumption by Allah- the supreme lawgiver. In the Holy Quran, Allah commands Muslims and all of mankind to eat of the Halal things. Eating Halal is obligatory.

    The opposite of 'Halal' is "Haram", which means 'Unlawful' or 'Prohibited". The other words used for Haram is 'Unacceptable' or 'Forbidden'. Haram foods and drinks are absolutely prohibited for consumption by Allah. Eating Haram is forbidden for every Muslim. If a Muslim consumes Haraam foods, he would be sinful.

    What Is Mushbooh?
    SHUBHAH (Mushbooh) is an Arabic term, which means 'Suspected'.
    If one does not know the Halal or Haram status of a particular food or drink, such a food or drink is
    doubtful. A practicing Muslim prevents himself from consuming doubtful things.

    "Mushbooh" means 'doubtful' or 'suspected'. If one does not know the Halal or Haram status of a particular food or drink, such a food or drink is doubtful. A practicing Muslims prevents himself from consuming doubtful things.

    The terms Halal and Haram will be used strictly to describe food products, meat products, cosmetics, personal care products, food ingredients, beverages and food contact materials. Which foods are Halal or which foods are Haram, is decided according to the Holy Quran and the Glorious Shari’ah (Islamic Law).Most diets and foods are considered to be Halaal unless Islamic Law specifically prohibits them.


    The following products are definitely Halal:

    Milk (from cows, sheeps, camels or goats).
    Honey.
    Fish.
    Plants which are not intoxicant.
    Fresh or naturally frozen vegetables.
    Fresh or dried fruits.
    Legumes like peanuts, cashew nuts, hazel nuts, walnuts, etc.
    Grains such as wheat, rice, rye, barley, oat, etc
    Animals such as cows, sheep, goats, deer, moose, chickens, ducks, game birds, etc., are also Halal, but they must be Zabihah (slaughtered according to Islamic Rites) in order to be suitable for consumption. The procedure is as follows: the animal must be slaughtered by a Muslim by putting the animal down on the ground (or holding it if it is small) and slitting it's throat with a very sharp knife to make sure that the main blood vessels are cut. While cutting the throat of the animal without severing it, the person has to recite
    "Bismillah Allah-u-Akbar".


    The following items have been categorically spelled out as being Haram:

    Pig/Swine/Pork and its by-products.
    Blood and and blood by-products.
    Carnivorous animals.
    Reptiles and insects.
    Halal animals which are not slaughtered according to the Islamic Law.
    Animals killed in the name of anyone other than God.
    The bodies of dead animals or dead before slaughtering.
    Alcohol and intoxicants such as Wine, Ethyl Alcohol, and Spirits etc.

    The above mentioned items are Haram and should be strictly avoided by all Muslims.


    Foods containing ingredients in the following are example of Mushbooh:

    Gelatin.
    Enzymes.
    Emulsifiers.
    Lard.
    Glycerol/glycerin etc.

    Muslim should avoid such foods containing Mushbooh or questionable ingredients. Before consuming such items, we have to confirm the source of these ingredients.
  2. tulipflower777
    Offline

    tulipflower777 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Female
    Ratings Received:
    +7 / 0
    Halal Tips

    Here are some tips for eating halal:
    1. Make sure that the products you buy have ingredients on their labels. If a product doesn't have a label with ingredients, DON'T buy it.
    2. Always check the ingredients. You might want to print and keep the list of ingredients to avoid, listed in the "Ingredients" section of our web site. If one of these ingredients are found in a product, don't buy it.

    3. Don't buy any meat products from the supermarket. Try to buy all your meat from a halal meat store.

    4. Try to avoid fast-food restaurants such as McDonald's, Burger King, Pizza Hut, etc. It might be true that some of their products are okay, but it is better to stay away and be safe.

    5. If you get a halal/haram list, make sure it is recent. There are many lists in circulation which are outdated and give out incorrect information.

    6. Be especially cautious in buying the following products: cheese, cheese flavour chips, cakes, cookies, french fries, candies, soups (may contain meat), sauce (may contain meat), margarine, yogurt, etc.
  3. tulipflower777
    Offline

    tulipflower777 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Female
    Ratings Received:
    +7 / 0
    A Guide to HALAL Foods

    A Guide to HALAL Foods

    INGREDIANTS ............ STATUS


    Acetic Acid .................... Halal
    Glycerol/glycerin (plant).....Halal
    Alcohol ..........................Haram
    Glycerol Stearate .............Mushbooh
    Ammonium chloride ............Halal
    Glycogen......................... Mushbooh
    Ammonium sulfate .............Halal
    Gum Acacia ................ ....Halal
    Animal Shortening/Fat.........Haram
    Hormones (animal) .............Mushbooh
    Ascorbic acid.................... Halal
    Hormones (plant)...............Halal
    Aspartame .................... Halal
    Hydrogenated Oil......... ..... Halal
    Benzoate/Benzoic acid ........Halal
    Hydrolyzed Animal Protein ....Mushbooh
    Bacon (Pork).................... Haram
    Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein......... Halal
    BHA ....................Halal
    Lard ....................Haram
    BHT ....................Halal
    Leavenings.................... Halal
    Calcium carbonate .... .....Halal
    Lecithin (Soya or Vege.)... Halal
    Calcium sulfate ................Halal
    Malt.................... Halal
    Carrageenan.................... Halal
    Malto Dextrin.................... Halal
    Cholesterol ....................Mushbooh
    Molases ....................Halal
    Citric Acid ....................Halal
    Mono Calcium phosphate Halal
    Cocoa Butter .................Halal
    Mono Saccharides...........Halal
    Collagen (Pork).............. Haram
    Monoglycerides (animal)......Mushbooh
    Corn Meal/Corn Starch .......Halal
    Monoglycerides (plant) .......Halal
    Corn Syrup.................... Halal
    MSG (Monosodium Glutamate).... Halal
    Dextrin/Dextrose ....................Halal
    Nitrates/Nitrites ....................Halal
    Dicalcium phosphate ...............Halal
    Nonfat Dry ....................Milk Halal
    Diglyceride (animal) ..........Mushbooh
    Oxalic acid.................... Halal
    Diglyceride (plant)............... Halal
    Partially Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil ........Halal
    EDTA ....................Halal
    PABA ....................Halal
    Enzyme (animal) ....................Mushbooh
    Pectic.................... materials Halal
    Enzyme (plant) Halal Pectin Halal
    Ergocalcifirol ....................Halal
    Pepsin (animal).................... Mushbooh
    Ergosterol ....................Halal
    Phospholipid (animal).................Mushbooh
    Ethoxylated Mono-/Di Glyceride.......Mushbooh
    Phospholipid (plant).................... Halal
    Fatty acid (animal) Mushbooh
    Phosphoric acid ..................Halal
    Fatty acid (plant)............... Halal
    Pork ....................Haram
    Ferrous sulfate ...................Halal
    Potassium Benzoate .............Halal
    Ferrous Sulfate ....................Halal
    Potassium Bromate ...............Halal
    Fructose ....................Halal
    Potassium Citrate .........Halal
    Fungal Protease Enzyme.......... Halal
    Propionate.................... Halal
    Gelatin / Kosher Gelatin ...........Haram
    Propionic acid.................... Halal
    Glucose ....................Halal
    Renin / Rennet....................** Mushbooh
    Glyceride (animal).................... Mushbooh
    Saccherine .................... Halal
    Glyceride (plant).................... Halal
    Salt ....................Halal
    Glycerol/glycerin .................. Mushbooh
    Tapioca ....................Halal
    Soya Protein.................... Halal
    Tricalcium Phosphate ..................Halal
    Soybean Oil ....................Halal
    Vegetable Oil ....................Halal
    Sucrose ...........................Halal
    Vinegar............................ Halal
    Shortening.................... Mushbooh
    Whey.......................... Mushbooh
    Yeast .............................Halal


    Glossary:
    Halal: Halal is a Quranic Term which means allowed or lawful. Halal foods and drinks are permitted for consumption by Allah- the supreme lawgiver. Eating Halal is obligatory.

    Haram: Haram is a Quranic Term, which means prohibited or unlawful. Haram foods and drinks are absolutely prohibited for consumption by Allah. Eating Haram is forbidden for every Muslim.

    Mushbooh: Mushbooh is an Arabic term which means suspected. If one does not know the Halal or Haram status of a particular food or drink, such a food or drink is doubtful. A practicing Muslims prevents himself from consuming doubtful things.



    :wasalam:
  4. jabba
    Offline

    jabba Salafi Dawah is the best

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    free from work inshAllah for 5.5 months
    Location:
    somewhere
    Ratings Received:
    +1 / 1
    :salam2:
    :ma: sister very nice post, information everyone should read inshAllah:wasalam:
  5. SuLFURIC_ACID
    Offline

    SuLFURIC_ACID Islam 4 life

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Im under Age
    Location:
    London
    Ratings Received:
    +0 / 0
    :wasalam:
    nice info sis!!!
  6. Johra
    Offline

    Johra New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    student
    Location:
    London
    Ratings Received:
    +0 / 0
    Salam Jazakallah sister for the info. By the way like your user name "Sulphuric acid" very kryptic, nice:hijabi:
  7. aishajor
    Offline

    aishajor Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    carer
    Location:
    England
    Home page:
    Ratings Received:
    +0 / 0
    very intresting sister thank you for your post
  8. ~niyqaabiy~
    Offline

    ~niyqaabiy~ Sami'gna wa ato'gna

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Sami'gna wa ato'gna
    Location:
    Ar'dullaah
    Home page:
    Ratings Received:
    +0 / 0
    :salam2:

    Jazaak Allaah khayr sisters for those post. Very educational indeed, al'hamduwlillaah.

    May it be pleasing to Allaah to reward you for your effort on Diyn. Amiy yaa Allaah!
  9. ruki4eva
    Offline

    ruki4eva Muslim Unity...

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Stepney/Mile End
    Ratings Received:
    +1 / 0
    Asallamu alaykum
    jazakallah for the post
    good info...
    hpe every1 readz it inshallah
    wsallaam
  10. Khalil2u
    Offline

    Khalil2u Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    Nurse
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    Ratings Received:
    +0 / 0
    great info thank you:hijabi:
  11. Mahzala
    Lurking
    Offline

    Mahzala فَتَبَارَكَ اللَّهُ أَحْسَنُ الْخَالِقِينَ

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    154
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    ... searching ...
    Ratings Received:
    +366 / 2
    Assalamualaikum

    :bismillah1:

    WOW! So much info. So much effort. Masha Allah.

    Jazak Allah. Thank you very much for sharing. May Allah reward you for your efforts Insha Allah, Aameen.

    I have some questions about the suspected ones though.

    Assalamualaikum
  12. shan-e-rehman
    Offline

    shan-e-rehman New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    student
    Location:
    italy
    Ratings Received:
    +0 / 0
    :ma:
    thnx 4 sharing :)
  13. Saidsaad
    Offline

    Saidsaad New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Q.A. Factory work (food production)
    Location:
    England UK
    Ratings Received:
    +0 / 0
  14. Prosperous
    Offline

    Prosperous asthagfirullah

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Gender:
    Female
    Occupation:
    student.
    Location:
    THE fakest place in world,,guess where.
    Ratings Received:
    +3 / 0
    :salam2:
    jazzakahllah for sharing.gud info.
    BUT there is someinformations which i cannot agree.like animal shortening being stated haram .
    these things specifically stated haram,is a wrong information and who ever is giving this information should give true information,because we are not allowed to make things haram or halaal by our selves.
    animal shortenings made of animal fats which are salughtered islamically are halaal,. So this things should not be stated HARAM,rather should be given information more clearly than this when it is concerned about public publishing of lists.

Share This Page