What should I do?

dawahforever

ASalaamu Alaikum

I want to ask for advice. 16 yrs ago I graduated from the Advertising course and then I converted to Islam. Because I was was visibly muslim no one would hire me! So I stayed home and had tons of kids but inside I still feel angry that my dream to write was taken away from me. I chose advertising because its creative and at least you can make money off it unlike a book which may or may not be published. I didn't choose journalism because it is not creative. I still have to take care of my kids but what could I do at home in my field which could make me feel like I am contributing to society? I feel so miserable lately..my dreams never came true and on top of that the crushing loneliness of being a convert and together they are taking a toll on me. Anyone else gone through discrimination and had their dreams foiled? HOw did you come out of it..how do you cope? What should I do for myself? Oh and the mosque doesn't let me volunteer so forget that or I would be writing newsletters and articles galore.

Wa Salaamu Alaikum
Aishah

Ahmed ibn Ibrahim

alhamdulilah
WaAlaikum Salaam, dear respected sister,

I'll ask Aminah to give you a virtual hug. ;-( What should you do? Hmmm, be patient, pray, be thankful for the countless blessings that you are aware of (as well as those you aren't), read Qu'ran, remember your death and how all of this will be so trivial once you attain the Great Success, continue being a fine role-model for your beautiful children (Alhamdulilah), continue writing and sharing here at TTI (maybe Mabsoot could use some of your advertizing talents?=)), eat lots of yummy food, go for long walks along snow-laden beaches, use the washroom when nessesary, breath, deeply, in through the nose out through the mouth, give your husband lots of kisses, and your children too, consider taking further education (building on your existing expertise or perhaps something in another direction; part-time at home, maybe?)...