Need for Islamic Schools!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Globalpeace

Banned
Asslamo Allaikum,

Alhumdo lillah I have been involved in Islamic schools in both US & UK for a number of years and although I am not a trained teacher (by profession) but I do have some observations that I would like to share on that front.

I spoke to a mixed race Muslim couple recently (Revert Brother, Arab Sister) who tried to put their kids in an Islamic school but their children were bullied.

I assured them in our “weekend” school this sort of thing will Insha’Allah not happen and doesn’t happen. Our plan was to extend this to a normal full time school but Alhum do lillah our Mosque has opened one.

Having said that there are many really good Islamic schools both in the US & UK Masha’Allah.

We started 4-5 years ago with 5 kids because we found that most of the Mosques in the UK cater for “Asian children” and standards of teaching Qur’aan (Tajweed) etc is not good to say the least; Alhum do lillah we are doing well (a lot still needs to be done as we believe progression never stops). We are one of the few Islamic schools in the Midlands area with trained teachers, a curriculum, and all the rest of the system that goes into a normal school so the kids feel great. We also do programs particularly for girls (because in our opinion Muslim girls are often neglected in the communities and Mosques); couple of sisters from Green Lane Mosque (Birmingham, UK) came on New Year eve to talk to our female students & planning on another one on Easter weekend Insha’Allah.

Over the years looked at many different curricula and teaching guides out in the market & have realised that there is no single good resource; some are strong in one area while others are strong in other.