not sure what to do

booya

Assalamualaikum

I've been reading some of the posts here concerning new muslims and their hardships with family, but I guess everyone has different situations so let me tell you my story.

So around a year ago I broke the news to my mother that I am interested in Islam. Later my sisters found out, but not my dad..since we thought that he would be really mad if he knew this. They were shocked and panicked, and arranged me to meet with some Christian priests/experts to discuss religious matters. I've met with several people, but I wasnt that interested at all because I think Islam is just the right one. Since I'm studying in the US and my family's at my home country, I am still a bit free in terms of learning.

Then last January I came back home, we didnt talk much about religion with my family, and during my visit I continued to learn Islam, meeting with muslims, getting books, etc. I was at the point that I was learning how to do my prayers, and I tried to make them at the proper times.

A few months later my family came with me to the US, and in one occasion, my mom was looking for something in my drawer and he found my Islamic books. She was very upset because she thought I have stopped learning Islam. Then she told my dad who was also very upset, saying that a muslim in the family would be a disgrace to the family and asked me to stop no matter what. After all this me and my sisters talked, and the bottom line is my parents would never accept if I convert (I havent told them I converted). They asked me to stop contacting muslims and stop learning abt this. My parents also took away my Qur'an and islamic books. They even threaten to stop my education in the US and go home if I dont comply.

As for my situation, I havent declared officially on my Islam, but in my heart I believe what muslims believe, and I guess I have recited the shahada in my heart. After this incident I have stopped praying because I dont know what I should do.