The pressure of being a minority!!

Amirah84

Assalama aleikum wa rahmatuAllah brother n sister,

MashaAllah this is my first post!! Although Ive been using the website fo quite sometime. I really think this website is one of the best out there in terms of the "community feeling". May Allah make us the best of muslims, ameen.

I wanted to share a little glimse into the place I study at. I'm a medic student, and study in a group of 45 or so. I'm a GEP medical studnet, which means all of my classmates n me already have another degree and we are an "adult group" of medics...well 22+ up to 40.

What Ive felt from my class i huge segregation and competitiveness. There are two hijabis, me and another sister. And there are a handful of really nice ppl. But in a really strange way I have felt so uncomfortable most of the time since we started in September 06. Sometimes I feel that I measure my worth in their eyes... i.e. I wonder what they think of me, or if they think im really weird or oppressed or whatever. I really don't know why I care so much. Most people in my class have an air of arrogance, even against each other. Actually it's mainly the women.

I'm the type of person who wants to be liked by all! silly and naive...yes yes. So I try to be friendly at all times and give ppl a smile. But u don't always get a smile back.

Anyway I just need some encouragment from my brothers n sisters to I guess be myself.... I really don't know why I bother with people who's opinions of right or wrong changes with the wind. But it seems that it it having an effect upon me. Has any sister or brother felt like this? What did you do about it?

JAzakhuAllah khair for responses,

Take care
Salama aleikum...

Abu Abdullah Al

:salam2: