Acceptable muslim appearances etc....

spider33

Im new to islam....so I would like to ask, is it acceptable for a muslim man to not have a beard? I mean it may sound stupid but I have always wondered about this.

Also could someone please inform me as to why it is against islam to drink alcohol....I mean its just something I have always wondered about.

Thanks for your help people :)

spider33

Thanks for your reply, I would have appreciated less sarcasm....and I do know of what alcohol can cause and erectile dysfunction is only caused when people are alcoholics! alcohol is not a bad thing if you know how to control yourself.....thanks very much.

Libinette

Umm Zubayr
Hi spider, assalamu 'aleikum,

Regarding the alcohol, Allaah says in the following verse to the Prophet (peace be upon him):

''They ask you about intoxicants and games of chance. Say: In both of them there is a great sin and means of profit for men, and their sin is greater than their profit. And they ask you as to what they should spend. Say: What you can spare. Thus does Allah make clear to you the communications, that you may ponder.''

This verse is very explicit, yes there may be some ''good'' however its evil and sin are far greater than the ''good'' they may bring therefore we have been ordered to abstain and stay far from it. We should avoid all physical contact with alcohol and that's why in a narration by the Prophet (peace be upon him) we are told that the one who carries the wine, the one who sells it, the one who pours it (even to someone else), the one who facilitates its propagation.. I believe there are 7 types of people well, all of these are also sinning even if they're not in actual fact drinking it.

It's best to keep far away.

Libinette

Umm Zubayr
Another point of interest, the scholars usually label alcohol as the 'Mother of all Evils'.
Also, here's a short (hopefully it's not too long) about the history of alcohol in Islam. Hope you enjoy it!