cursed are the image makers?

Ashima33

So being an artist... I struggle with the "image maker" issue. Luckily, I am a ceramic artist/potter... so most of my work is functional and uses lines and pattern styles... But I can't help but think about this a lot, as I do look at a lot of art for inspiration.

Anyways... my question... so... visually we can make images... we can paint a picture of a face, or draw a picture of a tree....

but what about story telling? a lot of times stories will "paint" a picture in our minds. Isn't that "image making?"

ahmed_indian

to Allah we belong
:salam2:,

Allah will not punish you for making picture in mind. pls dont make Islam hard on urself.

Allah tells stories of prophets (peace be upon them) in Quran and naturally picture develops in our minds. so will Allah ask us about this? inshallah No.

and Allah knows best.

Almeftah

That hadith refers to the Image of live beings.. like Humans, Animals of all kinds, or anything similar.

You can make an image of a tree, a leef, a branch, desert, beach, benches, flowers..etc.
For plants do not see or make a sound or breath like humans and animals.

And as my Brother Indian said:
Allah will not punish you for making picture in mind.Allah tells stories of prophets (peace be upon them) in Quran and naturally picture develops in our minds.

But its drawing and sculpting and so, these are not allowed.

Ashima33

I don't understand why it is interpreted that sculpting and drawing are not allowing, but creating a visual inside someone's mind is? Sometimes the visual we create in our minds can be even more accurate and similar to what Allah has create than what we can recreate with a pen and pencil. So... to me... that would be worse?