downloading E-books from the net??

nasa

salam alekom,

As a student, there is question concerning E-books; is it Halal to download PDF educational books, like programming books for my studies, from websites without the permission of the authors; or we can say a pirated copies.
please, if you want to answer support the answer with a proof.....

salam alekom,

q8penpals

Salam

Put it in this perspective - you want to know if taking something from someone (the publisher/author) without paying for it and without permission is okay? If I come and "borrow" your car without paying your or even asking your permission, is that ok? Just because you can't physically touch something doesn't mean it doesn't exist.

Using illegal downloads and trying to make it halal (when they are in fact ILLEGAL downloads) just seems wrong to me - as a computer teacher, I am frequently telling kids what COPYRIGHT LAW is and by downloading songs illegally, they are in fact stealing and breaking the law. Since we as Muslims are supposed to follow the laws of the land (as long as they do not contradict any Islamic teaching), I guess stealing other people's intellectual property and breaking the copyright law can't possibly be acceptable.

Maybe someone else can find a ruling? I know things have been printed in the newspaper here in Kuwait about this in the past, but I can't find anything specific right now.

Lana

q8penpals

Salam

So I said I couldn't find anything and right after I posted I found something! the only stipulation that I found is if the item is for educational purposes AND either it is almost impossible to acquire where you are or if you are so poor you can't afford it and you absolutely need it.

Lana

Copying CDs & Computer Programs that Have Copyrights
Question