Fasting

Valerie

I have some questions if I may...

Since I'm still learning (lots more to learn) I really need help on something, regarding fasting.

I understand what should not be done from sunrise to sundown, but the details are a bit fuzzy for me.

Right now take several medications at different times during the day (I do take a multivitamin too, though, before breakfast). That'll break fast, right?

My main concern, though, isn't really eating, it's water. I work out a lot (5 days a week, more if I'm not exhausted at the end :) ), and I'm concerned about dehydration. Should I give up exercising when I fast?

I'm trying to think ahead so that I'm not frustrated when I get there :)

Thanks for your time :)

Ashima33

Salaam Valerie,

I'm not for sure about the medication. Hopefully someone else will have more knowledge regarding that.

But as far as exercise goes.... you do need to take it easy during ramadan. Don't completely eliminate exercise, but you probably don't want to do anything extreme like what you're doing now. You will still want to do light forms of exercise like taking walks and stretching. The first week will probably be the hardest because your body will be getting used to it. Once this happens, you may be able to increase your exercise more... but for the most part... just know that during Ramadan, you will want to cut back.

Valerie

Thank you, I appreciate the help. The multivitamin is the only one I take because I want to... the other stuff is prescribed by my doctor..

Janaan

ربنا اغفر لنا ذنوبنا
Staff member
As-salamu 'Aleykum sis Val!

This must be your first Ramadaan- I'm soo Excited for you:biggrin::biggrin:
You'll LoVe the experience- Insha'allah!:) The Best month of the year is always 'Ramadaan'!!..May Allah get you through this and the ones to come Insha'allah:).

saifkhan

abd-Allah
Salam alaikum

some words about fasting that can I share:
Its not fasting that, for what we cant do that and that...such and such