My mum tells me:" You always take risks!"

Rawa

Salam,

25 years ago I lost almost all my extended family in a massacre, including my dad, my only brother, my uncle, my grand-dad, and my cousins. And several others left wounded including my mum, who till suffers from the sharpnel pieces in her body! After she lost her husband, her only son, and other extended family members, and harshly wounded, she lost all hopes. The only hope she had was the one in her womb, since she was pregnant. After some months, I was born and brought hope to my poor mum, alhamdulllialh.

But, as much as I have made her happy, I have caused her pain! The first time, in 1991 when I was just 9 years old, in a mass exodus of 2 million Kurdish migrating from Iraq to Iran because of the Iraqi millitary attacks on the Kurdish reagions, I was lost on the Iraq-Iran border and entered Iran on my won. My mum suffered so much until she found me in a small village in Iran. The second time, in 2006, after I graduated and could not find any job, I decided to work as a translator with the US army in Iraq. They needed translators to train Iraqi Army to keep the security. I thought it was a good idea to have a job and help Iraqi Army be trained. The first night I moved with the US Army from the North to the Middle of Iraq to go the military base where the Iraqi soldiers got trained, a road-side bomb exploded to the hummer and a US soldier wounded. I was alhamdulliah, safe. I slept that night in the base, and for tomorrow I said I did not work with them. I retunred home, and when I told my mum what story happened to me, she was shocked!