working as a call center agent; halah or haram?

arzafar

:salam2:

ok im jobless but alhamdullillah can speak good english. Should i work as a telemarketer; knowing that in marketing often you have to 'lie' about stuff you are selling? Is this halah or not?

Waseem203

Young Muslim
You can never lie about business. That's haram. If you don't have to lie about anything and just advertise, then I can't see anything wrong with it.

arzafar

actually it's not fraud but it's a form of marketing. you make unsolicited calls and try to sell things.

Aapa

Mirajmom
Assalaam walaikum,

Join the group..I am looking, too.

Call centers do not always lie. You can do many types of services. You can work for a bank, you can work for cable companies, etc. The pay is better than minimum wage. You do have to sit for long periods of time. I used to stand and walk around my cubicle. It is impersonal but it is quick money for a short period of time.

Sometimes the bonuses are better than the pay. In one job my bonuses were more than my paycheck every two weeks. I had tons of money. Just be sure you are comfortable with the product or service.

wonnee3

Trying 2 plz ALLAH

ok im jobless but alhamdullillah can speak good english. Should i work as a telemarketer; knowing that in marketing often you have to 'lie' about stuff you are selling? Is this halah or not?
As Salaamu Alaikhum, do u know 4 sure that what the sales pitch says is a falsehood from what the product does or does not do? If so, just omit that section from the pitch unless u r asked about it, then i would think u'd b ok. not ever being 1 i don't know the marketing ploy 4 the workers of the phone base, but i find it hard 2 believe that they would condone out right lies about a product, that's bad 4 business. May ALLAH guide u n this matter, insha ALLAH may u find something that will not put u n this type of position. ASA

DanyalSAC