How to tell parents

SmallTownMuslima

Hey everyone,
I think i am ready to tell my parents that i became a muslim, but i am not quite sure how and i was wondering how all the other converts on this site did? Thanks Everybody!

alkathiri

As-Shafaa'i(Brother)
:jumpclap: :jumpclap: :jumpclap:

Thats great news !!!!!!!!!!!!!
Be sure to stick around .there are many muslima here to help you

Julie1134

Back in August 2006 I converted/reverted to Islam. I was starting some classes at my new college. I was a transfer student. I began to wear the hijab for the first time. Finally my husband, daughter,and I moved back to KY. I was sending my mom many links from Youtube for her to watch about Islam. I even sent her a Quran because she seemed interested and ask for one. Once she got the Quran she read a little and didn't seem to like it. She didn't want it in her home. So one day she came to visit and I showed her all of my hijabs and my prayer outfit. She really liked them and even put one on. I have pictures. :) So what I done was tell her very slowly over time and not all at once. Just the other day I explained what Islam was about and she didn't judge me and even was amazed. Especially about the scientific facts in the Quran. She told me that now she understands what Islam really is. So my advice is try to take it slow with them. My mother didn't accept it at first, but over time she has. Take care

LeylaHussain

As salamu alaykum,

It is always a bit delicate to talk about your conversion to your family since we are affraid of them taking it bad and then reject us.
As far as I am concerned, the only contacts I have are with my mother and my sister, but inshaAllah I pray that they come to term with it and find the beauties of Islam.
I would say that the best way you can do it is by showing them how better and happier you became since you reverted. Your exemple is worth all the sterile discussions you will have with them.