MUSIC

Status
Not open for further replies.

somewhatinspired

well i know that most Muslims regard music as haram,
yet many others defend that there is only one weak Hadith mentioning such.
and from what i read, nothing mentioned in the Quran.

i was always under the impression that music is haram.

i will be honest i never questioned it,

it is my understanding that most people don't question it, because they assume it is strongly forbidden. but as i look, i cannot find evidence of such.

just people talking about how it distracts you from your practice, and corrupts the youth. haram haram haram....but i wanna see the evidence.

i am a drummer, and i have always enjoyed all sorts of music, it was always something that pained me to think about leaving behind. but Muslims told me i would just lose interest in it after being stronger in faith. that bothered me but at the same time it didn't, because i supposed that it was right.

well i have been listening to Dawud Wharnsbys latest music, (which has music) . along with Yusuf Islams latest music, and i find nothing wrong or distracting about either. in my opinion it makes me exited about my faith, and helps me remember and think about it more.

i am not talking about negative music here (sex filled hip hop, violent metal, or anything negative).

clearly love songs would be haram if they were graphic, or talking about lust.

but what about positive family oriented music for anyone.

filled with pleasant instruments and a good message?

i mean if anyone can provide me with good reasoning behind why most Muslims regard it as haram, i am more than eager to listen.

but if you can only tell me that certain scholars agree it is haram, i would like to know based on what.

and i would like to see what everyone opinions are on the subject.

many scholars have their own interests. someone pays for their food.
and if their opinion becomes controversial, they become controversial.