need some guidance

shawny

Hi,

I am a new member and I will admit I know little about Islam. I have a long term boyfriend who is a Muslim, and as we are getting more serious we have discussed our future together. IT is also an issue that sometimes he feels guilty for being with me as I am a christian (not practising) and we may find we have problems being together in the future if things stay as they are.

I was christianed as a child and it has never had an active role in my life. Since meeting my boyfriend however, I have started to learn more about Islam and I can feel myself becomming a better person because of him, because of Islam. I have stopped drinking alcohol, which is something I wouldn't have thought I would do of my own free will as I am a student in the UK. I feel I dress with more modesty and have a new found respect for myself.

I don't feel pressured in anyway to become a Muslim for the sake of my boyfriend, however, I do feel that maybe if I learn more about it, it could make me a better person. Of course, if I ever thought about becomming a Muslim in the future, it would have to be because I truly believe the Qu'ran and in Allah, not for my relationship.

I hope that this site and its members can help me with this. At the moment I am a bit lost.

Thank you.
Shawny

musliminah 05

:salam2:
Inshallah (if god wills) you will enjoy this site. As a revert myself my advice to you would be like you said Do not revert just for your relationship but for your self. I didnt no alot about Islam when I reverted and to this day I still dont as we are continually learning - one is never fully learnt!
But just take it a step at a time. I hadnt read the quran before I reverted, but I felt an inner peace and a place of belonging, which I had been looking for. I didnt understand many things and some things sounded very over the top but now as Allah has given me the capabilitly to understand, which is truly amazing!