Please Help!!!!

code_red613

Salam-

I have a question about polygamy in Islam... I'm really confused because before i married my husband I was told that you can marry another women if the first wife can not have a child but the first wife has to agree to it. but now i am being told different.. I was just wondering if anyone can help me.. if anyone knows the conditions on this or if the wife has to agree for this to happen. I can have children but i was told this was the only reason for a man to have a second wife. im also a new convert so i am still learning alot but i dont know where to go for help on this situation. thank you

Aapa

Mirajmom
Salaam,

If you are patient and review the posts there have been several discussions on this subject. I also recommend that you visit www.islamonline.net. They have a cybercousnelor. Please take the time to read through the posts here on TTI. Some have been very informative. And always feel free to ask us questions.

code_red613

ok i read most of them... but i still didnt get my question answered :( what if the wife doesnt accept it can the man still do that? and what are the conditions of it.. all i saw is if the wife was sick or disabled... is that it? because i dont think that its fair.. i was told only if the wife cannot have children and she has to agree with it but now im being told different.. is that even allowed in Canada?

Aapa

Mirajmom
Salaam,

Sister you are asking for a quick answer to a very complex question. I respect your question. However, there are answers that are given by scholars of the faith. I am not a scholar. I am also a firm beliver of marriage and polygomy. I posted a thread on 50% of the faith and if I recall there was much debate on all aspects of Islamic marriage. Please speak to an iman in person. This is a delicate subject and deserves respect. It is not a matter of fair or unfair. It is a more profound social issue.

alkathiri

As-Shafaa'i(Brother)