I have 1 question regarding Islam

rtbour

american muslima
Hello! This is my first time posting, and I have a big question that I really need answered. I need to know how men and women are equal in Islam, but the Qur'an states that 2 women are equal to 1 man in the form of a witness, 1 man can have 4 wives, and women are given less inheritance than their male counterparts. I am very interested in Islam, and I am stuck on this ONE issue. I really need an answer, but no one I have asked is able or willing to answer. I have asked another website this same question, and no one ever responded. I really want to understand the reasoning behind this different but equal thing. Thank you! :confused:

Amir_of_spain

i watched a doha debate on this, so i will summarise what i heard...
1) men and women are equal, as stated in quran, women will get rewarded for she does and so will the man, so both are equal in front of allah
2) equality in our terminology means fairness, not equality in terms of western understanding, as we believe that the physical, emotional and pyschological differences in men/women means we got to accommodate these features in society, hence women cant be equal to men due to these differences
3) that ayat u quoted above about witnesses is related to economical law
4) men can have more wifes because its a solution to the reality that men out number women
5) men are given more inheritance because they are the ones that have to provide for the family, even if the women works, thats her own money, husband cant touch it, so in this situation women are favoured, to make it balanced out men have more inheritance as they have more to burden economically