Another Question....Sorry!!!!

Isra

aka Tree2008
As-Salamo Alaikome....

I have another question (big surprise :lol:). First let me tell you that music has always been a huge part of my life so I was not happy to hear that musical instruments are haram in Islam. Well that being said I have come across some Nasheeds on YouTube and noticed some have instruments in the background music.

I am especially drawn to the Nasheeds of Sami Yusuf and Outlandish. I have noticed in the commentary on YouTube there are varying opinions on whether these Nasheeds are haram or not. Is there any way to know for sure if they are (I am really hoping they are NOT as I've become very fond of a few). I dont want to do anything haram in my path to Islam and especially something as simple as watching a video or listening to a Nasheed on YouTube.

Sorry I ask a lot of stupid questions but please be patient with me as I am just learning and I have nobody here to help me. Thank you!!!

Almeftah

There are many Nashids with background music, but that doesnt make musical instruments Halal..

Lets be honest..

The level of committing is based on how faithful we are to Allah.. Most of us muslims (Even i) dont fully commit, because we find it hard most of the time, since we had a long time - before some of us reverted or found the way to Allah -, and we got so attached to the blisses of this life that we find it hard to let go of it.

Thats why some of those who do Nashids or those who listen to it still find it hard to do it without music, for the deep effect music has on the heart and feelings..

masterood

Assalamu-alaikum

No question is stupid.

But getting back to the question, I am not an Scholar, but I do know this much; as zina is haraam, the Quraan says that we should not even come close to zina.
Hence, the Scholars draw the analogy that, in a similar manner all things that lead one to a sin or is even close to a sin is impermissable.