when you reverted...

2JulyBoys

Asalaamu alaikum,

For those of you that reverted, when you reverted, what was your family's reaction?

My parents are very devout Orthodox (Antiochian) Christians. When my mother found my books on Islam, she wanted to give me information on Orthodoxy, which I politely (yet had to forcefully) decline. I had, at that point, already reverted.

My inlaws made some rather hurtful comments about Muslims the other night. My mother in law's comments were more cultural than religious, but she doesn't realize the difference. My father in law's comments were just ignorant.

But I haven't told either set of parents that I have reverted to Islam. For those that did not read my intro, my husband is Christian, but completely supportive of my decision. Insha'Allah, someday he will also revert. He is more open all the time to discuss Islam. But I have been studying Islam for 15 years. He has heard about it for all of five minutes in comparision.

Anyway, I do not know how to tell them, because I know my parents will not be happy, and I hate to disappoint them. They are very devout. There are icons of Jesus (pbuh) and other Christian saints all over their house. It will not go over well. I am interested in hearing how other families reacted, if anyone is willing to share their stories.

JAK,

Anisa :hijabi:

marildu

Assalamu Alaikum sister,

InshaAllah your husband will revert someday. It's very wonderful that he is supportive of your decision.